Florida Is a “No-Fault” State!

The most important thing to note about Florida law if you’ve been in a car accident is that Florida is a no-fault car insurance state. That means, if you’ve been injured in a car accident in Florida, you’ll need to first turn to your own car insurance coverage to get compensation for your injuries and other losses stemming from the accident, regardless of who was at fault for the accident.

Only in certain cases can you step outside of the no-fault laws and try to hold the other driver liable for your injuries. this would mean that you file a liability claim with the other driver’s insurer or file a personal injury lawsuit against him or her. In Florida, only car accidents that result in permanent injury, or significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement, will allow a claim to be made this way outside of the no-fault laws.

The good news is that the FirstCoast Chiropractic medical doctors and chiropractic team are well trained in properly documenting the permanent impairment ratings that are necessary in any lawsuit of this nature.

Florida Auto Accident Related Medical Treatment Laws You Need To Know!

  • You must seek medical care for injuries resulting from an auto accident within 14 days of the accident, or no PIP benefits will be paid.
  • You must be diagnosed with an emergency medical condition or EMC (See definition below) in order to receive the $10,000.00 of PIP benefits that you are required to carry.
  • If you are not diagnosed with an emergency medical condition, your PIP benefits are reduced to $2,500.00.
  • Only a medical doctor (MD), osteopathic physician (DO), dentist (DDS) or advanced registered nurse practitioner, are allowed to make the emergency medical condition (EMC) diagnosis.
  • Massage therapy and acupuncture are no longer covered under the new law.

What is an “EMC”?

“Emergency medical condition” means a medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include severe pain, such that the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in any of the following:

(a) Serious jeopardy to patient health.

(b) Serious impairment to bodily functions.

(c) Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.

VERY IMPORTANT!

It is important to get treatment for your auto accident related injuries within 14 days as we mentioned above. But be aware… Many chiropractic offices do not have the staff medical doctors needed to legally identify and document an “EMC”. And many times the chiropractic office will not advise you of the fact that they do not have the medical staff required to “Legally” identify and document your EMC and thus cause your full PIP coverage of $10.000 or more depending on your policy to be reduced to $2500 in medical coverage.

At FirstCoast Chiropractic, we have medical doctors on staff who are legally eligible to identify and document an  EMC, and that have the experience and legal/medical knowledge to determine if your injuries qualify as an “Emergency Medical Condition” (EMC), This assures that you will receive your full benefits under Florida Law.

Be sure you are seen by a medical doctor (M.D.), osteopathic physician (D.O.), dentist (D.D.S.) or advanced registered nurse practitioner with EMC knowledge and experience to protect your coverage benefits. A Chiropractor (D.C) is not legally permitted to identify or document an EMC!

Schedule an Appointment!

Schedule an Appointment or Consultation Today!

FirstCoast Chiropractic has the medical staff necessary to legally document your EMC and protect your insurance benefits.
Schedule an Appointment!